Other story:
A Graduate's Secrets for Success in the Job Market
 

 

The Library's Bookmark Me@UST launch provided an ideal opportunity for us to learn a bit more about our new Librarian, Dr Samson Soong … and what better way to achieve that than by asking him about some of his favorite books?

Nobel Laureate Joseph Brodsky once suggested that a person's literary preferences provide an intimate portrait of the individual. And with this principle in mind, Genesis thought it would be interesting for our new Librarian to list the five books he would bookmark, if he could choose from any books in the world.

We learn from the great literature Dr Soong enjoys that he is a gentleman who possesses a strong sense of justice, considerable pride in China and her people, and a fun outlook on life. Take a peek at the list, and if you have time, why not dip into some of his favorite books yourself? They’re all available in the UST Library!

Dr Soong's "Bookmark Top 5"

1. The Good Earth by Pearl Buck
Pearl Buck's second novel was published in 1931, and was so well received that by 1938 she had gone on to become the first woman to win both the Nobel Prize for Literature and a Pulitzer Prize. Buck was born in the US but spent most of the first 40 years of her life in China. She was a first hand witness of the upheaval that occurred before World War II, including events like the Nanking Incident. Good Earth is her compassionate novel about farmer Wang Lung and his struggle to support his family through the trials of life in 19th century China.
   
2. Hu Shih and the Chinese Renaissance by Jerome Grieder
  This is perhaps the definitive biography of Hu Shih, a prominent Chinese scholar and liberal educator. Jerome Grieder explores the evolution of Hu Shih's anti-dogmatic ideals, contextualising them in the light of the events of his lifetime, specifically the literary and educational reforms that swept through China from the 1920s until Hu Shih's death in 1962.
   
3. All Men Are Brothers (Shui hu zhuan) by Shi Nai'an
  Shi Nai'an's novel is considered one of the classics of Chinese literature and the story's legacy survives today in countless movie and television adaptations. Set in the reign of Northern Song Dynasty Emperor Hui Zong (1101-1125), All Men Are Brothers tells the intertwined tales of 108 idealistic men and women who, from their lair in the marshes around Mount Liang, struggle to help the Emperor exorcise the region's corrupt rulers.
   
4. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
  The Adventures of Tom Sawyer has captivated children and adults since 1881. The novel describes the swashbuckling escapades of a boy on the cusp of adulthood in small town Louisiana. Tom and his friends, Huck and Joe, convey the innocence and ideals of American youth before the great changes brought on society by industrialization. Sprinkled with the ideals of community, love, friendship and prosperity, Twain's novel is one of the purest literary expressions of the great American dream.
   
5. 1421: the Year China Discovered America by Gavin Menzies
  Menzies spent 15 years researching this remarkable text whose central thesis is that China discovered America at least 70 years before the arrival of Columbus. The men who achieved this great navigational feat were the admirals of Emperor Zhu Di. They left China on a two-year expedition, and Menzies reveals archaeological evidence of their voyages, including the apparent remains of an ancient Chinese junk found in the Mississippi river. Unfortunately, by the time the fleets returned to China, the Emperor had fallen and the country was in political turmoil. Then began a long period of self-imposed isolation for China, and just as the great ships were forgotten and left to rot in port, this amazing Chinese maritime achievement was forgotten too.

 

Related links: - The UST Library Catalogue
    - The Nobel e-Museum

畢業生第一手求職秘笈
 
   

圖書館的“書海留名”計劃,讓我們更加熟識新任圖書館長宋自珍博士,然而要對他更進一步了解,最好不過是從他喜愛的書籍著手。

諾貝爾文學獎得主約瑟夫•布羅茨基(Joseph Brodsky)曾說,一個人的閱讀興趣是他內心世界的反照,同創以此請宋自珍博士從全世界的圖書館藏書中挑出五本心頭好。從他所選的書籍中,可見他滿腔正義、充滿民族自豪感及富有生活情趣。不信的話,可看看以下名單,若有時間,更何妨親自閱讀一下他提名的書籍?它們全都可在科大圖書館找到呢!

宋博士五本好書推介

1. 賽珍珠《大地》
《大地》是一部動人的小說,描寫農夫王龍在十九世紀的中國掙扎求存、照顧家小的故事。這是賽珍珠的第二本著作,出版於1931年,由於廣受好評,使她在1938年成為第一位同時獲得諾貝爾文學獎及普立茲獎的女性。賽珍珠生於美國,40歲以前一直在中國生活,親眼目睹第二次世界大戰前中國的動亂,包括南京事件。
   
2. 格里德《胡適與中國文藝復興》
  這大概是有關一位著名的中國學者及開明教育家胡適生平最詳細的著述,格里德(Jerome Grieder)在書中結合胡適的生平事件,尤其中國在上世紀二十年代至他1962年離世時的文學與教育改革,探討他反教條思想的形成及發展經過。
   
3. 施耐庵《水滸傳》
  施耐庵的這部小說被視為中國文學中的經典之一,今天的電影電視仍不斷將故事改編。《水滸傳》躑z北宋徽宗年間(1101-1205),108名忠肝義膽的梁山好漢,剷除貪官污吏、土豪劣紳的事蹟。
   
4. 馬克吐溫《湯姆歷險記》
  《湯姆歷險記》自1881年出版以來,瘋魔了無數大小讀者。小說躑z生活在美國路易士安納州一個小鎮的“半熟少年”如何搗蛋鬧事。湯姆和他的朋友克(Huck)與祖(Joe)的行徑,展示了工業革命為美國社會帶來巨大轉變前,當地青少年所流露的天真無邪與滿腔理想。小說觸及社會、愛、友誼及繁榮等題材,是美國夢最純粹的文學體現。
   
5. 孟席斯《1421:中國發現美洲的一年》
  孟席斯(Gavin Menzies)花了15年時間從事的研究,指出中國人比哥倫布最少早70 年發現美洲大陸。這偉大的航海成就得力於明朝太監鄭和,當年他帶著船隊離開中國越洋遠征。孟席斯的研究檢視了航海途中各項考古證據,其中更包括一艘在密西西比河發現的中國古船殘骸。可惜,國家後來陷入政治鬥爭中,隨之而來的是中國長期的閉關自守。隨著船隊被遺忘、船隻遭到廢棄,這次中國航海的豐功偉績也一同被湮沒於汪洋大海中。

 

- 科大圖書館目錄
    - 諾貝爾獎網上博物館